More diet notes…

Immediately the title of this post makes me want to address the word “diet”.  It isn’t a diet, it is a lifestyle.  You have to find what works for you or you won’t stick to it.  What works for me, may not work for you, or maybe you incorporate different kinds of vegetables that get you through the week.  Like carrots for me are great.  They are sweet and filling.  Yes, I should choose a vegetable with less sugar but they help get me through and they are so easy to rinse, put in a baggie and throw in my purse/car.  Too easy.  I don’t peal them, by the way.  The outsides will not hurt you.

I had a really good conversation with my friend, Ethan, about my food lifestyle today.  He brought up some really good questions, some that I have received from others too so I want to formally address them to help out anyone that is interested.

Some people would think I’m not eating enough.  I’m eating, but only when I’m hungry, and then I only eat until I’m NOT hungry anymore.  I don’t wait until I’m full.  If there is food left on my plate, I throw it in the fridge.  I’ve gotten used to not feeling full and it feels good.  I know the food will always be there, I can always eat a little something else in an hour or 2, if needed.

No, I don’t eat fruit!  So many people ask me this too.  It is too much sugar for me.  Sugar is sugar, whether natural or refined.  If you are watching your caloric intake, watch out for ALL types of sugar!

What about oatmeal/grains?  Grains have gluten and most of society cannot properly process gluten, though they don’t realize it.  This article will help clear up some of the myths the run rapid in our culture.  Plus, I don’t need those cheap calories.  I can fill the space with lean meats and vegetables just the same.

What about dairy??  This article will help with the dairy subject.  Avoid it!  Your body has a hard time processing it and you can get your calcium elsewhere!

I forgot to mention that we mix our daily meal replacement shakes with Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk.  It is super low calorie (40/serving) and goes really well with the shake.

I also have to mention that with my altered food lifestyle, I did NOT give up my coffee creamer.  Yes, this has cow dairy, but it is something that helps get me through when I’m “sacrificing” in other areas.  I do try to stay with the best of the worst, which to me is International brand, specifically the Breve line, which only has milk cream and sugar.  Coffee mate is awful, especially powered stuff!  Please stay away, my friends.

Also stay AWAY from:

  • Partially hydrogenated ANYTHING
  • MSG
  • Processed foods
  • Foods that come in a box
  • Foods that have an ingredient list that takes you more than 5 seconds to read

Alcohol – is there a place for it?  Best answer – yes, cheat day!  That is when Tim will have beer.  We used to have red wine (not sweet red) during the week occasionally.  Tim still does, but I cut it out when I was really trying to limit my calories to lose the weight fast.

I do NOT eat after 9:00 pm.  I usually go to sleep at 11:00 pm.  Water, decaf hot tea, that’s it.

We love fresh mushrooms, cooked onions.  I forgot to add them to my list.

If you are snacking on nuts, consider measuring and putting in a baggie or container to keep your portion low.  I will put some in a bag for the day and make sure I don’t eat more than that.  I never finish the entire bag in one day.  Always consider portions!  It is easy to consume a large amount of calories from nuts.  Even though it is a good super food with good fats, calories are calories if you are really trying to lose the pounds.

Just let go, Friends!  It is all mental and your body/joints/digestive system with thank you!

I want you all to know that it is encouraging and motivating for me to share these things with you.  It helps enforce what we are doing and also keep me on track.  If I can help any of you meet your goals – FANTASTIC!

About turtlesandstrawberrywine

Just another girl living in Texas, trying to make the most out of life with my husband and pups!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

